JoVE Logo
Faculty Resource Center

Sign In

Maslow's hierarchy is described with the help of a pyramidal shape. The most fundamental needs, physiological needs, are at the bottom of the pyramid.

Physiological needs such as hunger, thirst, sex, physical comfort, and survival are at the bottom of the pyramid. These are the components that are necessary to sustain life. Once the first level of needs has been met, the second level arises.

Safety needs include stability and predictability. Protection and freedom from danger are all a part of the need for security. An individual's need for a stable and secure environment is at the heart of these feelings.

Love and a sense of belonging emerge from the first two levels of need. The individual's desire for companionship, a family, and a sense of belonging to a variety of groups is fueled by these needs.

As the previous needs are met, a new need for self-esteem arises. The desire to be respected, trusted, and admired by others and oneself is part of this level.

Self-actualization is the last need in the growth of an individual. According to Maslow, the individual must first satisfy the preceding need to achieve this state of personal fulfillment.

Although Maslow explains that not everyone ascends this hierarchy sequentially, there are exceptions. A person may go against his safety to save someone else or a valuable object. This does not mean that once lower-level needs are met, higher-level needs go into an inactive state or become inactive. Higher level needs are necessary to inspire and to continue in a positive direction in life.

JoVE Logo


Terms of Use





Copyright © 2024 MyJoVE Corporation. All rights reserved